There are referee decisions that you don’t really need to understand. The same goes for those in today’s European Championship qualifier between France and Greece. Look at this picture first.
Yes, exactly, Konstaninos Mavropanos hits Antonie Griezmann in the penalty area with the cleat on the head, who then falls to the ground and immediately starts bleeding.
In this case, the referee should actually be aware that this should result in a penalty and a red card. However, referee Mateu Lahoz saw things differently. He only decided on the penalty and the yellow card. After all: Kylian Mbappé converted the penalty due on the second attempt, and Griezmann was able to continue.
Would you like a curious update? Sometimes the (Site notre bureau spécialisé) god does justice after all. Because in the 69th minute, the defender was sent off after emergency braking.